Book review: The Lies of Locke Lamora

Lies of Locke Lamora

Lies of Locke Lamora

When I finished the previous book, I was looking for a thrilling read set in a fictional world with a little alchemy and magic. Well as they say, when you think of something someone has already done it. I went and bought 3 books, and was deciding which one to give a read, I’m glad I chose this book. Set in a world much like the renaissance period with no electricity but instead, alchemy to have lights. Instead of medicine, potions are used. And magic is used just by a select few known as Bondsmage who work for money and they charge a very high price.

The protagonist is called Locke Lamora as the title. He is a thief and the leader of the gang of thieves called the Gentleman bastards. The book is also the first book in the series called the Gentleman Bastard. The story starts with the scheming of a new job and execution of it’s first step which all go well.

But if all goes well then there is no plot so everything goes wrong after a while. Then it’s upto the wits and brain of Locke and his gang to make everything right again.

This book has it’s ups and downs and does get a little boring at times. But after half the book is done it’s only exciting. It took me a month to finish the book but 50% of it I finished in 3 days, it’s that gripping. The pacing in first part of the book could be better though.

I give this book 4.5 out of 5.

