[Preview] The Magician: Apprentice

Cover

I am currently reading this book and thought to write my initial thoughts about it. This is just a preview and not a full review.

To the forest on the shore of the Kingdom of the Isles, the orphan Pug came to study with the master magician Kulgan. His courage won him a place at court and the heart of a lovely Princess, but he was ill at ease with normal wizardry. Yet his strange magic may save two worlds from dark beings who opened spacetime to renew the age-old battle between Order and Chaos.

That is the summary from the Goodreads.com page where it gets a rating of 4.17.

When I first read about this book on Goodreads, I was skeptical as to whether plunge in and spend my hard earned money and gamble or not because the main thing which made me think twice was the name of the protagonist, Pug. It is really difficult for me to swallow the thought that name of the protagonist is a dog’s name. I was in the mindset of thinking that all novelists name their protagonists something special but this was even less than generic.

After this I read the reviews people have written about the book and got to know more about the author, Raymond Feist. It seems he is renowned and his work has a lot of fans. I took the plunge looking for an exciting starting from childhood story which involved a bit of drama, less of politics, and more of adventure, which I am glad to say is true about this book.

The first book in the Riftwar saga expanding 485 pages of adventure. Mr. Feist knows how to lead his readers how he wants to. He can finish a section in a snap and it would all make sense. His style of writing is easy to read when explaining when complex things. I like how magic is explained, briefly but I get the feel there is more into the book or in the series which will be explained when the correct time comes.

I am about 40% done in the book and every time can’t wait to pick it up and actually look to make time for reading. I recommend any fantasy adventure looking reader to pick it up without thinking twice.

