Review: Magician by Raymond E. Feist

Cover

Cover

An exciting, overly detailed, fast paced, and spanning years of an adventure. I have finally read the book and here are my thoughts. There are spoilers though, sorry can’t help it.

This is actually two books in one package. Magician: Apprentice and Magician: Master. This was quite a confusion as when buying, I wanted to purchase Apprentice but when I asked the person he said this is the same book. So I took it, later realizing that I actually purchased a 2-in-1 book. Good for me.

This is not “just” a book, it’s a bit towards the epic side. What I loved about it is how the author develops the characters and by the end you realize that the protagonist is one of the protagonists because there are several of them. From the start we meet Pug, a quite boy who works at a castle keep. We are told that he will be the main protagonist of this story and we believe it. But after reading for a while you actually get it in your gut that this boy will be something special in the future but right now there are other characters whose story is more important. Such as Tomas. He gets introduced as the side-kick of Pug but later takes his own identity to succeed and becomes the strongest soldier in the world.

The story gets a little crazy when people from another world attack this world. Even in fiction it was not so believable but still made a compelling story line.

Pug manages to become a really powerful magician by the end of the book but I feel I still haven’t seen his real powers. Well the author never made him battle other powerful magicians face to face, just one scare down in which he tore up the place but never showed his actual increase in powers or explained how he learned them. Learning his magic powers was a surreal dream as I read it.

Apart from this, I liked the other characters more for most of the book. Arutha is actually a good potential main protagonist but he was sidelined after the siege of Crydee was over. The man who was made king, Lyam, we don’t really know much about him, only that he is like his father in being strong willed and intelligent with good looks.

I am looking forward to reading Silverthorn which is the second book of the series (or third if you count this as two books). I hope the loose ends make sense later on.

Rating: 3.5/5

