Review: 2010 Subaru WRX STi

This one is mine

This one is mine

As I have previously mentioned in a post in November 2013, I have now driven this car enough to be able to comment on my experiences.

It has been around 7 months since I bought the STi off of a guy needing some cash and me having recently been married thought to myself this was the last chance of buying anything for me and being selfish for the last time. So I took the plunge and got it. After 2 months in the engine broke down. Now I had known about this weak engines of WRX and STi from 2008 to 2010 but though that applied to the US market since those cars are made in US and this is made in Japan for our market, but it happened nevertheless. The clever thing I did was though that before buying a STi I picked the one to negotiate over which had 3 years warranty with the dealer still valid. So I took it to the dealer and they replaced the engine and ECU with a 2012 one since they didn’t have 2010 stock.

The specifications are (in courtesy from Car and Driver):

  • VEHICLE TYPE: front-engine, all-wheel-drive, 5-passenger, 5-door wagon 
  • ENGINE TYPE: turbocharged and intercooled DOHC 16-valve flat-4, aluminum block and heads, port fuel injection
  • Displacement: 150 cu in, 2457 cc
  • Power: 305 bhp @ 6000 rpm
  • Torque: 290 lb-ft @ 4000 rpm
  • TRANSMISSION: 6-speed manual
  • Wheelbase: 103.3 in 
  • Length: 173.8 in
  • Width: 70.7 in Height: 58.1 in
  • Curb weight (C/D est): 3360 lb
  • PERFORMANCE (C/D EST): 
    • Zero to 60 mph: 5.1 sec
    • Standing ¼-mile: 13.6 sec
    • Top speed (governor limited): 145 mph
  • FUEL ECONOMY:
    • EPA city/highway driving: 17/23 mpg

So now to summarize, I bought the car with 25,000 Kilometers on the odometer, upon doing a little over 26,500 the engine broke down. Then I received a new engine for free because of the warranty. I paid less than half for the car in the first place so I imagine it was a good deal. Plus the seller gave me an AEM cold air intake with it as well which I installed in a week’s time just to hear the turbo spool. In my opinion it was that which destroyed the engine because they recommend the car to be tuned after installing any modifications to the engine. Now it rests in the storage and the car is completely stock.

First of all I would like to point out the cons of this car.

  • Less than average fuel economy even on the conservative “Intelligent” setting
  • Harsh ride for family, it’s not like they can’t sit in it but it’s harsher than an average sedan or a normal Impreza.
  • No power when not in boost
  • Black paint is just not the right choice for this region I live in, it gets dirty in less than a day from normal wind (but I guess this is subjective for my choice of choosing a black car)
  • The brakes make noise when used cold but are alright when properly warmed up

Now those are what I can think of, the pros are awesome in comparison to the cons though:

  • Amazing power after boost kicks in / go above 2500 RPM
  • Very good brakes, seems like the car stops from any speed to full stop in a second
  • You can limit power to conservative (Intelligent), about 75% power (Sport), and full 100% power (Sport #; read as Sport Sharp)
  • The power can be manually controlled using the DCCD, meaning upto 50% power can be sent to the front wheels or make it a full real wheel drive car. So you can drift in it or do grip driving.
  • The above mentioned DCCD can be set to auto for the computer to figure out what to do, which in my opinion is the best option.
  • The car looks evil with it’s wide fenders and the scary “I will eat you” hood scoop.
  • The buttons and knobs are for basic needs, no extra useless luxury is provided so you concentrate on driving
  • The seats are strangely comfortable, you don’t move in them at all and I like the fact that they are not leather but suede which helps in sticking you in your place
  • the 0-100 KM/hr power is very good, especially on traffic lights to teach some people a lesson
  • The fact that in my country the maintenance for this car at the dealer is equal to maintaining a normal sedan. I pay around $40 for a 5,000 kilometer service. When buying the car I asked the price for maintenance service of the Golf GTi and Lancer Evolution at their dealers and was blown away. $190 for GTi and $440 for the Evo. That’s too much compared to the STi.
  • The back seats lie down for extra luggage space.
  • When you open the 5th door, you can actually sit in the car just like a chair.
  • Keyless operation has made my life so much easier. This might not be an option for a lot of people but my STi came with the key fob. So I unlock the car by having the key fob in my pocket and pressing the button. At night if I have the key fob and I go near the car, even before unlocking it the interior lights turn on, welcoming it’s master. And the ignition is a button, no need to twist a key which is also a pretty likeable feature.
  • Visibility of the surroundings while driving is very good.
  • Air conditioning is very good and I actually freeze a few times in it
  • The fact that a lot of people don’t know about this car in this country, so I can mess with stupid drivers. Even a few cops thought I had extensively modified my Impreza.

Well that’s what I could think of at the moment. This car has given me all that I wanted and more. A few guys ask me of what my plans are for modifying this car. Well, I certainly don’t want to make it more powerful but would certainly like to get it tuned to optimize the fuel economy and performance. The maximum I would do with it is installing a full suspension package, the ones like Eibach Pro-Plus kit which includes lowering springs and sway bars. Would complete that with strut bars and a bushing solid busing kit which would last forever. I would not be changing engine internals and such things. In my opinion the car is strong enough and it outclasses a lot of cars on the road and I would like to think with this car I outclass a lot of drivers on the track with much more expensive rides.

