Nerd: My journey of PC Part 2

As I talked about my journey till my then current PC here, there have been serious updates. Before saying what the new specifications are, I would like to state the changes which came in my career life. So hang in there for some reading.

The company I was working for went bankrupt due to some managerial choices which we could say now were not wise. In a day I lost my job. I had bills to pay and couldn’t live without a monthly income even though I had saved up to sustain myself for 6 or more months if I spent modestly. Now before this happening, I had partnered with my long time friend in a business with an Information Technology services license which means I could do business in retail or service of IT products.

This carried forward to be my exit since prior to losing my job I was working on tender proposals to submit for my company. One of them was accepted and the contract was signed just 2 weeks before losing my job. I figured I would save money in not hiring extra hands and would run the business with my partner full time, and so we did. During this time, even though the frequency of getting paid was not suitable, I did get paid and more than I was earning before. So this sparked new interests in spending on gadgets. I now own a Macbook Pro, two ipads, several smart phones etc. During this time I felt sorry for myself and started researching on the newly released technology.

I decided that I would not upgrade my current setup, I would replace it. So I went with the following setup:

  • Intel Core i7 4790K CPU
  • Corsair H100i CPU cooler
  • Asus Z87 Expert Motherboard
  • Gigabyte GTX 980 Windforce Graphic Card
  • Corsair AX1200i PSU
  • Kingston Beast 2 x 8GB DDR3 RAM
  • Cooler Master HAF XB Evo case

This setup was joined by my existing hard drives. Later on, actually quite recently I removed the old drives and added two 2 TB Drives and a 256 GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD for Windows drive. All of this was very  heavy and I needed a better case which would be dust proof for efficiency and fitness on a desk. I went for a Phanteks Evolv ATX in black. All my hardware fits flawlessly, no dust is accumulated on the components and the PC is fast. I play everything in 1920×1080 resolution on max settings now. There are no slowdows in anything I do. This machine is primarily my gaming and downloading center and rests on a desk. All kinds of other browsing I do on my Macbook. Life is so much better.

Oh and the business didn’t work out at the end and I left it to join a respectable international firm, couldn’t be more happier.

